Me Before You by JoJo Moyes review

We are currently in the summer season and this means that us, readers, are
having the time of our lives because now we get a lot of time to read
amazing books. As I love to read, I want to start a series of posts
where I review some of my most recent reads. They’ll contain a non
spoilery section for all of you who haven’t read the book and then a
spoilery section.

These last days I’ve been immersed into a book and this one is : Me
Before You by JoJo Moyes. Before reading this book I was in a huuuge
reading slump but after I started to read this book I fell in love
with reading again. I think that this book is one of the most
emotional books that I’ve read in my life and, believe me, I’m not a
very big fan of contemporary reads because I don’t tend to get
immersed into them but, with this book, everything changed. I loved the
plot of the book and I really enjoyed the different point of views.Me_Before_You_(film)
Also, I think that the writing was beautiful! It made me feel that I
was Louisa and that the things that she was going through were
actually in my life. This book is so relatable  besides the age
difference between me and the main character. I read this book because
of the trailer. Everyone was talking about the book and then I came
across with the trailer. I was crying like mad when I was watching the
trailer. Yes, you’ve read right, THE FREAKING
TRAILER MADE ME
EMOTIONAL! After this, as a good reader, I decided that I was going to
read the book before watching the film but, on the downside, I was a
bit spoiled of the plot and theme of the book because of the trailer
so, if you can avoid it, don’t watch the trailer before reading the
book. I fell in love with the characters, with their city….This book
will take you to an unexpected journey and believe me, you won’t
regret it!

SPOILERS!

I’ve just finished reading the book and I’m crushed. That ending
was… I don’t even have words to explain it! I knew that Will was
going to die,  sometimes it was a bit too obvious but I hoped that
this didn’t happen. Sometimes I actually believed that Will was going
to live, for example, when they were on holidays. I saw that he was so
happy there with Louisa and when they were alone I was fangirling so
hard, shouting: BUT WHY CAN’T YOU JUST KISS! And, finally, at the end
they kiss and everything is perfect till dumb Will tells her that he
won’t change his mind. This moment was heartbreaking and I couldn’t
hold it together. After all of Lou’s efforts, it turns out that she is
not good enough. I really understand Louisa for being angry and running
away. Seeing all of your efforts crush just hurts too much. I think
that the saddest moment was when Louisa says goodbye to Will. They
could have had a happy life together but, on the other side, I also
understand Will’s situation. Being in so much pain all of the time
just makes you be tired of living.

Excluding this sad moments, I think that it was a bit more light-hearted that what I expected. As many people, it took me by surprise when the book wasn’t based on a love story but a friendship story. I loved Will and Lou’s relationship because they were like best friends. Both of them are so funny and sarcastic and I think that Will needed someone to tell him that he wasn’t right always. The others told him that because they pitied him. Lou treated Will as an equal and I realDecembre- juliol 2016 1758ly loved this about her, especially when she was shaving him and she was making such a deal about it, I couldn’t stop to laugh while reading this scene. I really believe that Louisa is a wonderful character and I loved to see her relationship with her family. Her and her sister’s relationship is sooo real! In other books that I’ve read they only show the good parts of having a sister but here we see how really is but, besides all of the sister drama, they end up finding a way to show everyone that family always comes first and that they are the ones that will always be
there for you. One of my favourite lines of the book is when Louisa says ‘’ It’s incredible how much a person can change in three weeks’’ and I feel that I really relate to this quote as I went on holidays and I haven’t had any contact with my friends for three weeks.
Also, one of my favourite parts was when Lou was at the Job centre and she was freaking out because she didn’t want to wipe some old man’s butt :’) Really, this scene always makes me cry of laughter! That ending though. It was EPIC! That letter was just heartbreaking and beautiful at the same time and I’m excited to see how Louisa’s life changes now that she lives away from her parents and without Will.

If I had to say something negative about this book would be the end when Lou’s mum tells her that if she goes to see Will at Dignitas she won’t be welcomed home again. This was so harsh from her part. The poor girl only wanted to say goodbye to her soulmate and I don’t think that she understood her daughter.

QUICK FILM REVIEW:

I think that this film really showed how good the novel is and I don’t really have anything negative to comment besides the fact that the movie was only based on the romantic bits and not the family and friendship parts of it. You can’t believe how much I cried while watching it! Emilia Clarke and Sam Clafling did an amazing job and I think that there were the perfect Will and Lou. The film was everything that I wanted!

What did you think about the novel?  Tell me down below!

Leave a comment